Lakeland traffic crimes attorneys
Traffic crimes are the some of the most charged and prosecuted offenses in Florida. Penalties can range from a speeding ticket for citations, to prison for felony convictions. Criminal traffic charges are not to be taken lightly, as they can affect your ability to have a Driver's License and legally drive. Specific citations and crimes are:
Reckless Driving - The operation a motor vehicle in a manner demonstrating a willful or wanton disregard for safety.
Driving With a Suspended License - A first offense for driving with a suspended license, with knowledge of the suspension, revocation, or cancellation, can result in 60 days jail and a fine of up to $500.00. A second offense may be charged as a first degree misdemeanor, and carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail. A third offense may result in felony charges, with up to 5 years in prison and maximum fine of $5,000.
No Valid Driver's License - This charge is a second degree misdemeanor, with penalties of up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. The state is not required to prove knowledge. They only have to prove that you did not have a driver's license and drove.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident - Also known as a “hit and run,” is defined as the failure of a driver to remain at the site of a vehicle crash and fulfill other statutory duties, when the crash at issue involves death, bodily injury, or property damage. If the crash involved only property damage it is classified as a second degree misdemeanor, with penalties of up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. If the crash involved personal injuries to another person, the offense is classified as a third degree felony, with penalties of up to 5 years in prison or 5 years of probation, and a $5,000 fine. For accidents involving the death of the other person, the offense will be classified as a first degree felony, with penalties of up to 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Habitual Traffic Offender - any person whose driving record, as maintained by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, shows that such person has, within a five-year period, accumulated:
(1) Three or more convictions of any or all of the following offenses:
Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
Any violation of Section 316.193 [DUI];
Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
Driving a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or revoked;
Failing to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle crash resulting in the death or personal injury of another; or
Driving a commercial motor vehicle while his or her privilege is disqualified; or
(2) Fifteen convictions for moving traffic offenses for which points may be assessed as set forth in Section 322.27, Florida Statutes, including those offenses set forth above.
Consult an experienced attorney to minimize consequences such as losing your driver’s license. For your free and confidential consultation, contact us online today or call Attorney Heather Bryan at 863-825-5309.